Sunday, January 26, 2014

Books I'm Looking Forward to in 2014


I know I am posting this way too late, but thanks to bloggiesta, I recently became addicted to Edelweiss. It has opened my eyes to so many amazing books coming out in 2014, and I just wanted to share a few of them with you! Let me know in the comments which books you are looking forward to most.

 

Image Map

The Things You Kiss Goodbye by Leslie Connor (June 24th, 2014)

Bettina Vasilis can hardly believe it when basketball star Brady Cullen asks her out, and she just about faints when her strict father actually approves of him. But when school starts up again, Brady changes. What happened to the sweet boy she fell in love with? Then she meets a smoldering guy in his twenties, and this “cowboy” is everything Brady is not—gentle, caring, and interested in getting to know the real Bettina. Leslie Connor has written a lyrical, heartbreaking, and ultimately hopeful story about family, romance, and the immense power of love.

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters (June 10th, 2014)

When Alix's charismatic girlfriend, Swanee, dies from sudden cardiac arrest, Alix is overcome with despair. As she searches Swanee's room for mementos of their relationship, she finds Swanee's cell phone, pinging with dozens of texts sent from a mysterious contact, L.T. The most recent text reads: "Please tell me what I did. Please, Swan. Te amo. I love you." 

Brazen by Katherine Longshore (June 12th, 2014)

Mary Howard has always lived in the shadow of her powerful family. But when she’s married off to Henry Fitzroy, King Henry VIII’s illegitimate son, she rockets into the Tudor court’s inner circle. Mary and “Fitz” join a tight clique of rebels who test the boundaries of court’s strict rules with their games, dares, and flirtations. The more Mary gets to know Fitz, the harder she falls for him, but is forbidden from seeing him alone. The rules of court were made to be pushed…but pushing them too far means certain death. Is true love worth dying for?

The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco (August 5th, 2014)

You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being has nothing to do with the curiosity toward my own species, if we can be called such. We do not go gentle, as your poet encourages, into that good night. The Girl from the Well is a YA Horror novel pitched as "Dexter" meets "The Grudge", based on a well-loved Japanese ghost story.

The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy (July 1st, 2014)

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world. Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." 

Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu (May 13th, 2014)


Some secrets are too good to keep. Complete the assignment to keep your secret safe. 

Tab likes it that the assignments push her to her limits, empowering her to live boldly and go further than she’d ever go on her own. But in the name of truth and bravery, how far is too far to go?

Dream Boy by Madelyn Rosenberg and Mary Crockett (July 1st, 2014)

Annabelle Manning feels like she’s doing time at her high school in Chilton, Virginia. She has her friends at her lunchtime table of nobodies. What she doesn’t have are possibilities. Or a date for Homecoming. Things get more interesting at night, when she spends time with the boy of her dreams. But the blue-eyed boy with the fairytale smile is just that—a dream. As Annabelle learns, if dreams can come true, so can nightmares.

They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Clair (October 14th, 2014)

Pretty Little Liars meets Final Destination in this YA psychological thriller that will have readers' hearts racing right till the very end!

The Island at the End of the World by Austin Aslan (August 5th, 2014)

A powerful story enriched by fascinating elements of Hawaiian ecology, culture, and warfare, this captivating and dramatic debut from Austin Aslan is the first of two novels. The author has a master’s degree in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii at Hilo.

Tease by Amanda Maciel (April 29th, 2014)

Emma Putnam is dead, and it's all Sara Wharton's fault. At least, that's what everyone seems to think. Tease is a thought-provoking must-read that will haunt readers long after the last page.

After The End by Amy Plum (May 6th, 2014)

She’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future.

(Don't You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn (June 10th, 2014)


Welcome to Gardnerville. A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies.

Except...

There’s a price to pay for paradise.

4 comments:

  1. So glad you were able to find such a great pile of books! The cover for Brazen is gorgeous, I bet it's going to be stunning in print.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I think Brazen is the one I am most excited about! I can not wait to get my hands on it.

      Delete
  2. So many good ones! I love that Brazen cover!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Looks like some great reading -- should be a terrific year!

    ReplyDelete